115 Hutcheson Hall Blacksburg, VA 24061    |    Office: 540.231.3823    |    Email Us              |    
  National Chapter  
The National Chapter Award Program is designed to recognize FFA chapters that actively implement the mission and strategies of the organization. These chapters improve chapter operations using the National Quality Chapter Standards (NQCS) and a Program of Activities (POA) that emphasize growing leaders, building communities and strengthening agriculture. Chapters are rewarded for providing educational experiences for the entire membership.

In order to qualify for a state or national award, your chapter must complete at least 15 activities: one for each of the five quality standards in each of the three divisions. Additionally, the chapter must meet the minimum requirements as outlined in the National Quality Chapter Standards.

State Superior Chapter Award
Every chapter that meets the minimum quality chapter standards and completes Form I will qualify as a state superior chapter. To do this, chapters need to conduct one activity related to each quality standard in addition to meeting the minimum criteria outlined in the National Quality Chapter Standards. Chapters receive a superior chapter certificate each year they achieve this level. The chapter will also be eligible to compete for their state’s Gold, Silver and Bronze chapter awards.

State Gold, Silver and Bronze Chapter Awards
To compete for state gold, silver or bronze awards, chapters must qualify for the superior chapter award and complete Form II. Chapters use Form II to report goals, plans of action and results/evaluation on three activities for each division. State judges rank the chapters as gold, silver or bronze based on the rubric. Chapters receive a multi-year plaque and yearly plaque inserts, commonly known as spurs, specifying the level achieved each year. The state’s top three gold chapter award winners (or the number equal to 10 percent of the state’s total number of chapters, if that number is higher) are eligible to compete for the National FFA Star Chapter Awards.

State Top Quality Standards Chapter Awards
The state level also recognizes the top chapters in each of the three divisions: growing leaders, building communities and strengthening agriculture. The top area chapters in each division receive a plaque. Of those top area chapters in each division, a top premier chapter will be chosen in each division. Only gold rated chapters are eligible for top quality standard awards.

State Top Overall Chapter Awards
Top high school and middle school chapters will be chosen as top overall state chapters. These Virginia FFA Top Overall chapters exhibit exemplary qualities in all categories of growing leaders, building communities and strengthening agriculture. An overall state winner for both Sr & Jr will be chosen out of the top chapters based upon application and presentation score. Only gold rated chapters are eligible for the top chapter awards.

Application Center
Online Instructions

Submit to State Judging
Applications and the online confirmation forms are due April 1st, 2024.
Confirmation Form: Superior Chapter (Form I ONLY)
Confirmation Form: National Chapter (Form I and II)

Copyright Virginia FFA Association © 2024. All rights reserved.
Website designed by Wieghat Graphics, Inc.    |   Admin Login
Give Online
Follow Us